Friday - August 6, 2021 @ 05:52
BERITANASIONALBank Negara To Release New Banknotes On The 16th July

Bank Negara To Release New Banknotes On The 16th July

Bank Negara Malaysia is pleased to announce the issuance of new Malaysian banknotes series into circulation from 16 July 2012. The new banknotes will co-circulate with the existing banknotes which remain as legal tender. Members of the public will be able to obtain these new banknotes through their normal business transactions.

Themed ‘Distinctively Malaysia’, the latest banknotes series draws its inspiration from the country’s diverse culture, heritage and nature. The new banknotes series uses the latest banknote technology to enhance security features which include shadow image, clear window, watermark portrait with pixel and highlighted numerals, colour shifting security thread, micro lens thread, perfect see-through register and coloured glossy patch. The visually impaired are able to use specific feature such as tactile identification to identify and distinguish the different denominations.

The new banknotes series comprises denominations of RM1, RM5, RM10, RM20 and RM100.  The RM20 banknote is reintroduced in this new series and polymer substrate is used for the RM1 and RM5 banknotes. The current RM50 banknote has been issued since December 2007 and will continue to remain in circulation.

Bank Negara Malaysia urge all the relevant parties to expedite their machine calibration to accept the new banknotes series for the convenience of the public.

For further information on the new banknotes series, members of the public can contact BNMTELELINK at 1-300-88-5465 or call 03 – 2698 8044 ext 8658 or visit Bank Negara Malaysia’s website at







Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here